Vessel & Robin Carolan composed the new Robert Eggers film “The Northman” (exclusive vinyl pre-order)

One of the most anticipated new movies of the spring is The man from the northdirector’s new viking historical fantasy Robert Egger (The Witch, The Lighthouse) which features Alexander Skarsgard, Nicole Kidman, Claes Bang, Anya Taylor-Joy, Ethan Hawke, Willem Dafoeand Bjorkin his first film role since A dancer in the night. It releases on April 22 and you can check out the trailer below.

The score for The man from the north was composed by Robin Carolan (founder of Tri Angle Records) and Sebastien Gainsborough (Ship), who worked outside of their normal electronic pattern and used traditional instruments like the tagelharpa, langspil, kravik lyre and säckpipa. “Rob wanted the world of The man from the north to feel hard and uneasy,” the composers say, “and for everything to look like it was covered in mud and dried blood, so it was crucial that the score reflect that.

You can get a taste of Carolan & Gainsborough’s score with the sweeping “Storm At Sea / Yggdrasill” — listen below.

The man from the north The soundtrack will be released digitally on April 22 to coincide with the film, and physically on July 1 through Sacred Bones Records. We have partnered with the label for a exclusive variant on green and beige splatter vinyl it’s limited to 300 copies. The 43-track double-vinyl gatefold set comes with full-color poster and inner sleeves. Pre-order yours now.

Here is a picture of our variant:


The Northman OST Track List:
1. Hrafinsey approach
2. The King
3. Enter the temple
4. Last Tear
5. Blood Tree
6. Strike, Brother
7. Get away
8. I will avenge you, father
9. The land of the Rus
10. A burning barn
11. clairvoyant
12. The Raven’s Omen
13. Storm at Sea / Yggdrasill
14. Iceland
15. I will save you, mother
16. Slave Labor
17. Guðrun
18. Follow the Fox’s Tail
19. He-Worciere
20. Draugr
21. Mound Dweller
22. At the Games
23. Birch woods
24. First of Many
25. Trollian Sorcery
26. Svid Night, Part 1
27. Svid Night, Part 2
28. I Am Your Death
29. Come in the morning
30. I am his revenge
31. Óðinn
32. Valkyrie
33. Vestrahorn
34. Hidden Valley
35. Tree of Blood, Part 2
36. Blóð Inside / I Choose Both
37. A Young King
38. The wolf has grown
39. The Gates of Hel / Slain by Iron
40. Hekla
41. Cut the Thread of Fate
42. Make Your Way / Valhöll
43. Ættartré / End credits